top of page


Here we would like to introduce you to the different communities in

the Metropolitan Region of Belo Horizonte (RMBH)

The Metropolitan Region of Belo Horizonte (RMBH), the third largest in Brazil, was established in 1973 and currently has 34 municipalities. The last population census, carried out in 2010 by the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE), showed the number of 7,346 self-declared indigenous people living in the region, present in 24 municipalities.

Most of the time, public spheres are unprepared to deal with the situation of traditional peoples in cities, whether at the municipal, state or federal level. Hence the importance of giving visibility to their conditions of insertion in the RMBH. The mapping presented here, still under construction, is being produced based on the researchers' prior knowledge, on pre-existing productions and research, and on direct contact with members of some indigenous groups. From these, descriptions of each identified group are being elaborated, and photos and videos of those willing to provide such materials are being systematised. So far we have been able to identify the presence of groups and individuals from the following ethnic groups: Aranã, Carajá, Kamakã, Kambiwá, Kariri-Sapuyá, Maxacali, Pataxó, Pataxó Hã-Hã-Hãe, Puri, Tikuna, Tupinambá, from the Brazilian territory, in addition to indigenous peoples from other countries, such as the Warao from Venezuela and the Quéchua from Peru. The location and description of quilombola communities in the region were also included, complementing the information on the traditional peoples that currently inhabit the RMBH.

To learn more about it, click here.

Source: Text produced by Adriana Fernandes Carajá, Eni Carajá and Thiago Campos.

References: Webpage CEDEFES: accessed in 29/04/2021

01_Povos Tradicionais na RMBH_V01.png
bottom of page